How To Be Vegetarian

If i’m a vegetarian. can I eat sushi. And so today I found out that… Alright here is the 411 on vegetarians who eats what chose what you want but it is your Choice: Vegans don’t eat any products of animal origin. This includes not only meat, but also dairy products (milk, butter, cheese), eggs and even honey. Many vegans do eat onion and garlic. The strictest vegans don’t wear leather, wool or silk and also avoid health and beauty products made with ingredients derived from animals — for instance, lip balm with bees wax or skin creams with lanolin (an oil extracted from sheep’s wool). Although any people who choose a vegan diet do so because they are allergic or insensitive to dairy products or eggs, most choose veganism because of ethical concerns. Most vegans have a deep commitment to ending the exploitation and mistreatment of animals. The term vegan, formed from first three and last two letters of the word veg etari an , was coined in London in 1944 by seven vegetarians who founded the Vegan Society. Lacto-vegetarians/ Religion vegetarians / Lactose-Vegetarians are strict vegetarians who may consume milk and dairy products (optional) . Strictly No meat, no fishes, no eggs, no onion and no garlic. Lacto comes from the Latin word for milk. Ovo-vegetarians are people who still eat eggs. Ovo from the Latin word for egg. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians / Ovo-Lacto-vegetarians are those who eat both dairy products and eggs. Macrobiotics A macrobiotic diet is mainly vegetarian, but macrobiotic diets often include seafood. In this diet all other meat products are excluded, as are eggs and dairy products. They also do not eat “nightshade vegetables” (potato, pepper and eggplant), refined sugar and tropical fruits. This diet contains many foods found in Asian countries such as miso soup, root vegetables (daikon and lotus) and sea vegetables (seaweed, kelp, arame). It emphasizes eating locally grown foods that are in season. Meals consist of 50% to 60% grains, 25% locally grown produce, and the rest of the diet mainly consists of beans and soups. In lesser amounts fruits, nuts and seeds are eaten. This diet is based on the Chinese principles of yin and yang. Some people follow this diet as a philosophy of life and others follow it for health reasons. Flexitarian – a vegetarian who is flexible enough to occasionally eat meat or fish. Demi-vegetarians don’t eat red meat or poultry, but they do eat fish, eggs. Pescetarians / Pesco-Vegetarians / Pesce-Vegetarians eat a vegetarian diet but also consume fish. Pescetarians may avoid red meat and poultry because they do not want to support factory farming or other inhumane methods of raising animals. For many people making the transition to vegetarianism, pescetarianism is a stage along the way to an entirely meatless diet. Pollo-Vegetarians eat poultry, such as chicken, turkey, and duck. Meat Restrictors avoid red meat, but may eat fish and poultry. Pescaterians Vegetarian still eats fish occasionally. Vegetarian Sympathizers – Folks who do eat meat, fish, and chicken — but perhaps much less than they once did, and perhaps more carefully (they may choose organically raised meats). They lean somewhat towards a low- or no-meat way in their thinking. Frequently Sympathizers and Pesces are on the continuum towards a lacto- or vegan way of eating. Partial, occasional, casual, transitional and social vegetarians As the media releases more and more reports on the health benefits of a vegetarian diet, the number of people who are curious about vegetarianism continues to grow. Many of these people choose to reduce their meat intake instead of eliminating meat from their diet altogether. They may choose to give up just red meat, or they may only eat meat when they know it comes from small-scale producers who treat their livestock humanely. They may want to eat a stricter vegetarian diet but are temporarily prevented from doing so — for instance, parents with non-vegetarian children who aren’t ready to become vegetarians. Or they may eat a vegetarian diet with at home with vegetarian friends or family members and only eat meat when they’re out with non-vegetarian friends.


10 replies on “How To Be Vegetarian”

  1. Dee Lowell says:

    Eat whatever you want, don’t conform to what other people want you to do. Sushi is raw fish however, determine your own course from that.

  2. Rachel Jackson says:

    Sushi is fish and it is meat. vegetarians dont eat meat. If you do eat meat then you are not a vegetarian

  3. Mindi Nguyen says:

    Like someone has already said, there are different degrees of vegetarians. Some consume dairy products, egg products, no red meat, no animal products whatsoever, and so on.

    I think if you eat meat of any kind while calling yourself a vegetarian is cheating.

    *shrugs*

  4. Randi Eaddy says:

    Technically no. Vegetarians (as in the title) get their sources of protien from nuts, soy and other vegetables. Good Luck. 🙂

  5. Terry says:

    I don’t know where people get the idea that there are lots of different kinds of vegetarians. I am one, and not ashamed of it!
    There are only two (2) types of vegetarians: lacto-ovo; which is when you eat no meat, fish, gelatine etc. but you eat eggs and dairy products.
    The other type is a vegan; they eat nothing at all in reference to animals. No meat, fish, gelatine or eggs or dairy. (Each vegan decides whether to eat honey or not).
    Sushi is raw fish so if you ARE a vegetarian you should NOT eat it. If you do, you are not a vegetarian and should not call yourself one.

  6. Wiz says:

    There are like seven different kinds of vegetarians. . . . varying from vegans (no meat or products made with meat biproducts and no dairy). . . . to those that just do not eat beef. So you are whatever kind of vegetarian that you want to be. Some do eat fish.

  7. Wizard Nesmith says:

    sure! there are tons of veggie rolls (cucumber, asparagus,
    veg tempura. . . )

  8. Mindi Burbank715 says:

    that depends on what type of food you eat some vego’s eat sea food

  9. Daytona says:

    Yes you can. Sushi actually means “seasoned rice” not raw fish. Although many sushi dishes do include raw fish.

  10. Dharmu Terrence says:

    Not all sushi is raw fish! There are great veggie rolls, with things like avacado and carrots, that are totally vegetarian. (I know becasue I eat them! You can usually find them at Harris Teeter or the Fresh Market. ) And then you have to decide: will you eat fish eggs? If you are an ovo-lacto vegetarian there is no reason why you shouldn’t. Look for stuff with Roe or Caviar if you decide you are comfortable eating eggs. Vegetarian sushi is great; I eat it all the time.

    And technically, SASHIMI is raw fish, NOT sushi. Sushi does not mean “raw fish. • So eat up!

Comments are closed.